Monday, April 28, 2008


Malaysian Parliament commenced its session today after the 12th General Elections that was held on March 8, 2008. The 222 Members of Parliament took their Oath of Office, commenced with the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Minister and then the rest.

Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia Turut from Sabah took his Oath of Office.

The Deputy Speakers elected were Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (BN-Santubong) who obtained 157 votes, while Datuk Ronald Kiandee (BN-Beluruan) obtained 140 votes. However, the Opposition candidate Dr. Tan Seng Giaw from DAP only managed to obtain 81 votes. Based on the lower house Standing Order, both the deputies must be elected members of the house.

The day's proceeding then came to an end.

Tomorrow, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, will officiate the sitting of both the Dewan Rakyat and Dewan Negara while the Dewan Rakyat will meet for a 16-day sitting from today to May 27, while the Dewan Negara will meet for eight sittings between April 29 and June 4.

photo courtesy of Agendadaily