Friday, March 21, 2008


Finally the Selangor Exco list has been finalised and submitted to the Palace for approval. It has been reported that the Palace wants a minimum of 5 Malay members to keep in line with the racial population composite of Selangor. It is also reported that the swearing-in ceremony is fixed for Monday and rehearsals are being underway.

Those selected are Dr Xavier Jayakumar (Seri Andalas ), Elizabeth Wong (Bukit Lanjan), Yaakob Sapari (Kota Angerik) and Rodziah Ismail (Batu Tiga) from KeADILAN while Ronnie Liu (Pandamaran), Teresa Kok (Kinrara) and Ean Yong Hian Hua (Seri Kembangan) from DAP, and Dr Hassan Ali (Gombak Setia), Dr Halimah Ali (Selat Kelang) and Iskandar Abdul Samad (Cempaka) from PAS.

Meanwhile it is reported that veteran Selangor opposition leader Teng Chang Kim from DAP will be appointed the Speaker.

There is a call by the Indian community that they hope that Kota Alam Shah state representative M Manoharan be appointed as a Deputy Menteri Besar or Speaker in Selangor, in appreciation of the contribution made by him and HINDRAF, who is still detained under ISA at Kamunting.

photo courtesy of Malaysiakini