Wednesday, March 03, 2010

Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud retains PBB presidency until 2013

Abdul Taib Mahmud, who has been Sarawak chief minister for 28 years, retains the Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) presidency for the 2010-2013 term when the post was uncontested.

He has helmed PBB since March 26, 1981, a period of almost three decades.

PBB election committee chairperson Mohd Asfia Awang Nassar, when announcing the election results, said that at the 12th PBB convention this time, all the top posts in the PBB were not contested except for the 11 seats for the supreme executive council (MKT) for the bumiputera quota.

The election, which concluded this afternoon, saw the Sarawak Assistant Minister for Tourism and Heritage, Talib Zulpilip polling the highest votes of 830.

The MKT seats for the Pusaka quota were all won uncontested.

The following is the full list of the PBB supreme executive council for the 2010-2013 session:

Abdul Taib Mahmud

Deputy president I
Alfred Jabu Numpang

Deputy president II
Abang Johari Openg

Senior vice-president I
Awang Tengah Ali Hassan

Senior vice-president II
Douglas Uggah Embas

Dr Muhd Leo Toyad
Michael Manyin Jawong
Daud Abdul Rahman
Abdul Wahab Aziz
Lihan Jok
Empiang Jabu
Fadillah Yusof

news courtesy of Malaysiakini

No comments: